I’ve been depressed. You? | Internet Time Blog

I’ve been depressed.

Telling you this will blow my chances of running for president, but what the hell: I have been clinically depressed for the last two years. It’s a form of going crazy. I lost interest in my work, stopped blogging and taking photos. I became a near-hermit.

I want to share my experiences with you so that if the black dog visits you or one of your friends, you’ll recognize it for what it is and take appropriate action.

via I’ve been depressed. You? | Internet Time Blog.

My take: As a depression sufferer, I urge you to speak out. If you need an ear, you call me…message me…Twitter, FB, LinkedIn, Skype, whatever.. I promise that I’ll listen. 

Depression took a crippling toll on my life until I finally acknowledged it and sought treatment. Since then, I have slowly regained control of my life.

It’s an empowering thing when one of the most respected people in your network comes forth with something like this.  Jay Cross just took another step up the ladder of esteem in my book.

About Mark L. Sheppard

learning geek, lifelong learner, terminally curious, recovering blogger and Ed Tech explorer.

Posted on March 5, 2015, in reblog, reflection, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’ve been there too. Thanks for sharing Jay’s post and and ding your own comment. People need to know they are not alone in this.

  2. Thank you for your transparency and caring, Hitch Hiker. I applaud you for being a male who speaks out about depression. Yes you are RIGHT! Others are not alone. You will feel like it when you go through your valley but you have to have a support network to help circumvent that. For others that feel alone I’m including the link that explains the hauntings of my clinical depression (my “Specter”) as well as the events of the night I tried to take my life – http://wp.me/p5HZgm-1v Stay strong. Like you and Meike said, you are not alone.
    -Chris

  3. Been through that as well, didn’t ambition to run as president though.The good thing is that there an end to it and no sequels. Never took medical treatment (got one, stop it quickly, no regret).

    • The solutions are as unique as the symptoms. In some cases it’s a simple matter of therapy or even changes to diet and lifestyle. For others, medications are the only way to correct the chemical imbalances that cause the depression.

  4. The question is why isn’t everyone clinically depressed? How do people manage to escape the reality that is our collapsing ecosystem, social upheaval, endless wars, political corruption, financial shenanigans and other things that shape our lives. We live in an omnicidal culture that destroys nature for profit and leaves mllions of people without jobs, without homes even while there any millions of homes standing empty. We’ve lost the ability to fend for ourselves and have become mindless servants of the status quo at the expense of our own physical, emotional and spiritual well being. I fight depression daily and have learned to numb out in order to make it through the day. What I’ve come to realize is that I’m NOT the one who’s crazy, mentally ill or otherwise defective. I’m empathic and cannot bear the horrors that I see happening around me and round the world every day. It’s been said that depressed people have a better grip on reality that optimists. All I know is that we have no hope of resolving issues unless we collectively face them head on.

    • You’re not wrong there, FG. The world is a dark and scary place for many but there are also many who see light instead of darkness; not to make light of the points you raise at all.

Leave a Reply

