Au clair de la Lune

Like many others, I was sad to learn of the passing of Neil Armstrong.

The Apollo missions and all they represented were a key part of my childhood, even as a Canadian. While I was only 14 months old when Apollo 11 touched down in the Sea of Tranquility, I remained captivated by the accomplishments of NASA and even the Soviet Space Program. Those were heady times, and I even remember watching the “handshake in space” live on TV.

Tonight as I look at a half moon still visible in the late summer sky, I think about those days when man walked the moon, and I’m saddened that we’ve not left Earth orbit for similar missions in the 40 years since.

Godspeed, Neil Armstrong. Your quiet courage and humble outlook were examples to us all. Tonight I give the moon a wink, just for you.

About Mark L. Sheppard

learning geek, lifelong learner, terminally curious, recovering blogger and Ed Tech explorer.

Posted on August 26, 2012, in commentary, news, random, reflection, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Such a fascinating time to be alive.

    My grandmother was born before the Wright brothers flew and I remember her telling me how incredible it was that she had just watched Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin walk on the moon.

    I will always remember the newspaper headlines the next day. The Vancouver Sun changed their name to ‘The Moon’ for one day.

    It was a big deal, the day we looked back and saw our planet for the first time.

Leave a Reply

