Wholeperson PLN Thoughts and Thanks

Steve Wheeler (@timbuckteeth) has thrown out some queries in support of #plym12 that asked about people’s Top 3 tools for their PLN. Many of the results followed a similar theme: Twitter, Blogs, Social Bookmarking…that sort of thing.  My Top 3 were: Twitter, my Blog, and Evernote. Niall Gavin (@niallgavinuk) responded with a Top 5 and made the interesting inclusion of Instagram as part of his PLN.

That made me stop and think.

Niall and I are mutual followers on IG and I’ve enjoyed the renewal of my photographic hobby interest through that tool*.  But I considered it just that, a hobby.  Not necessarily something I would instinctively think of as a core part of my PLN, right??

Wrong. And I should have known better.

As Niall put it when I commented on the inclusion:

RT @niallgavinuk: RT @niallgavinuk: @elearningguy Just part of the mix; overlaps social and professional – #wholeperson #showingup

He’s absolutely right.  Everything that you do, particularly something that has a social, commentary, or developmental/creative aspect, contributes to your learning and growth. Had I actually taken a moment to think beyond the narrow confines of my assumptions, I would have remembered my recent Snapguide activity related to IG (ironically, the post right before this one).

So here’s my learning for today: Keep my PLN boundaries open. If I can learn something – no matter what I’m doing – then I’ve succeeded.

Thanks, Niall…I owe ya one.

*Desperately hoping that Facebook doesn’t completely fuck it up after the purchase
About Mark L. Sheppard

learning geek, lifelong learner, terminally curious, recovering blogger and Ed Tech explorer.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in blog. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow; honoured to have stimulated such an honest and self-appraising blog Mark. You definitely show up as one of those ‘whole people’ to whom I referred. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

