To blog, or not to blog, that isn’t the question

Today had one of those unexpected, but wholly valuable exchanges. In a retweet from Jennifer Dalby (@injenuity) about blogging by Clive Elsmore (@clivesir) and subsequent comments from Dave Truss (@datruss) we wound up in a lengthy exchange about blogging, who the audience is, and how to write “just for you”

Suffice it to say it was a small kick in the hind parts and I resolve to be more diligent about keeping the dust bunnies away from this place. I’ll be making some time over this long weekend to write more about this particular exchange, so this post serves as a little reminder and a thank you to Clive, Jennifer, and Dave for adding a little inspiration and remotivation to my afternoon.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in blog, commentary, personal development, PLN, PPN, reflection, Social Learning, thoughts, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. After just reaching my 6th year ‘Blogiversary’ I’d agree, it isn’t a question. I learn, therefore I blog, therefore I learn some more! 😉

    I think I’ll retire from education before I retire from blogging… And that’s a long ways away.

    Looking forward to your follow up post.
    ~Dave

    • I admit I’m surprised at the polarization of the blogging decision as a whole. Based on Jennifer’s comments and yours, I do see both ends of this spectrum so it really appears to be a personal decision. Perhaps the polarizing element is the more public and connected nature of the blog when compared to a personal journal. The awareness of “learning” as part of the blog process seems to be a higher-level function. I’ve maintained (loosely) journals of different sorts for ages and have been a “blogger” since 2004, but it wasn’t until grad school that I embraced the value of the blog as a learning vehicle.

      I’m also looking forward to the follow-up. I see a stream of thoughts in my immediate future. 🙂

  2. Happy to have been a trigger in your blogging revitalisation 🙂
    Clive

Leave a Reply

