CSTD Durham Chapter – links and other things

As promised, I am sharing some links and other information from the Jan 26th workshop.

Before doing so, I want to thank all of the participants for their enthusiasm and contributions, and I want to thank the Chapter Exec for extending the invitation. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

My workshop visuals were developed in Prezi.  I admit I’m somewhat of an anti-PPT kind of guy* so I like finding alternative tools for strong visuals.  I’ve shared with you my visuals from last night’s workshop as well as my visuals from an e-learning primer I did for HR Management students at Centennial College a while back. While there are some costs to the service, I find it to be an excellent cloud-based platform for developing visuals and it really can add a genuinely dynamic element to your message.  (as with any powerful tool…use it wisely.)

You can also find my Facebook page for your amusement.  It is a mirror of this blog, but it also has links to other L&D practitioner pages.

For those of you who were potentially looking at doing systems/software-type training, I found Jing by TechSmith to be absolutely invaluable.  You can also “cloud” store the output through screencast.com.

For those interested in incorporating social media technologies to their learning efforts, I made mention of a couple of resources, namely Jane Bozarth’s (@JaneBozarth) definitive work: Social Media for Trainers.  You can also get the Social Learning Handbook by Jane Hart (@C4LPT), founder of the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies in the UK.

The Dan Pontefract (Telus, BC) article on the Kirkpatrick Eval Framework fracas should prove interesting reading.  This link also lets you see the original article that started the whole thing. Dan is on Twitter as @dpontefract

You may also want to read the discussions and thoughts breaking down the myths of Learning Styles and why L&D practitioners should know better.

Folks interested in the Curation work can check out David Kelly (@LnDDave) and his “Misadventures in Learning” page.

Finally, I encourage all of you to explore Twitter, in particular, the weekly #lrnchat.  The info/archive page is available at lrnchat.wordpress.com.  You will find an amazing amount of information and expertise being freely shared by practitioners and thought leaders. Incredible.  …and did I forget to mention “free”?

Thanks again for being a great, active, and engaged audience.  I hope to see you again sooner rather than later.

-Mark

 

*It’s not the tool that I dislike, per se, it’s more the slavish dependence we seem to have on it, coupled with the often egregious abuses suffered by viewers of badly-designed presentations and poor speakers.
About Mark L. Sheppard

learning geek, lifelong learner, terminally curious, recovering blogger and Ed Tech explorer.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in blog. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

