CSTD Scheduling Thoughts

>Apart from my previously discussed crying jag comments about lack of WiFi, today I really felt like a prisoner of the schedule overlaps.

I know it’s tough to try and cram everything into a short duration, but I’m struggling to grasp why we had to deal with the overlap between the core sessions and the Thought Leader tracks?  For example, @robsof and I were both in the A7 Session on Design Thinking (Valerie Hickey & David Brown), but the session with Karl Kapp started 15 mins before the end of that session AND ran through a significant portion of the lunch hour.

Maybe its just me, but I’m not a fan of feeling like I’m short-changed on any part of the conference experience (yeah, even when someone else is paying for it), because – darnit – that’s MY experience.  So I found myself rushing through lunch just so I wouldn’t be late for the first session after lunch.  Even then, if I wanted to make Bob Mosher’s session on informal learning, I get my break cut short.

No, I don’t know what the solution is, but I’ll take a page from Peter Block and hopefully start that conversation with someone.  How could we do this differently so we can distinguish between making choices and choosing to sacrifice?

About Mark L. Sheppard

learning geek, lifelong learner, terminally curious, recovering blogger and Ed Tech explorer.

Posted on November 19, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

